Little Witch Academia: VR Broom Racing announced

Prototype playable at Anime Expo 2019.

Little Witch Academia: VR Broom Racing

Virtual reality entertainment company Univrs has announced Little Witch Academia: VR Broom Racing, a tentatively titled virtual reality game based on the Studio Trigger-produced anime series set for release in spring 2020. Specific virtual reality platforms were not announced.

In Little Witch Academia: VR Broom Racing, players will be able to freely fly around the sky on a broom alongside the characters that appear in the story and race using magic. The game utilizes Univrs’ own “motion sickness prevention technique” (patent pending) that reduces the “VR motion sickness” that has restricted player movement in previous virtual reality titles to offer the best possible flight experience.

Univrs will launch a crowdfunding campaign for development and promotion funds on July 3, which will run for 45 days. The Campfire campaign will launch on July 3 at 9:00 a.m. PT / 11:00 a.m. ET / July 4 at 0:00 JST and August 17 / 18 at the same time. The Kickstarter campaign will launch on July 3 at 9:00 p.m. PT / 11:00 p.m. ET / July 4 at 12:00 JST and end on August 17 / 18 at the same time.

A prototype version of Little Witch Academia: VR Broom Racing will be playable at Anime Expo 2019, which runs from July 4 to 7 at the Los Angeles Convention Center. Univrs will also host a “Little Witch Academia: VR Project Panel” featuring director Junichi Yamamoto on July 4 from 12:00 p.m. PT / 3:00 p.m. ET to 1:00 p.m. PT / 4:00 p.m. ET.

Watch the teaser trailer below. Visit the official website here.

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for $3.00 off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.