Switch system update version 6.0.0 launches September 18

Nintendo eShop maintenance planned after launch.

Switch

Switch system update version 6.0.0 will launch on September 18 at 5:00 p.m. PT / 8:00 p.m. ET, Nintendo announced.

It should be noted that after installing the update, you will no longer be able to unlink your Nintendo Account from your Switch user account.

After the update is launched, the Nintendo eShop will be under maintenance until 8:00 p.m. PT / 11:00 p.m. ET.

After the maintenance is complete, Nintendo Switch Online memberships will be available for purchase. Switch owners will not automatically become members when the service starts, so a membership needs to be purchased in order to avoid disruption of online play.

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for 5% off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.