Sea of Thieves closed beta set for January 24 to 29

Pre-order to gain access.

Sea of Thieves

A closed beta for Sea of Thieves will run from January 24 at 4:00 a.m. PT / 7:00 a.m. ET / 12:00 p.m. GMT to January 29 at 12:00 a.m. / 3:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 a.m. GMT, Microsoft announced.

The closed beta will be accessible to anyone who pre-orders the game or who joined the Sea of Thieves Insider Programme before December 1, 2017. If you already pre-ordered Sea of Thieves, you can find out how to join the closed beta here.

Users will be able to stream, create videos, share clips, and take screenshots as they please during the closed beta, as it will not be covered by an NDA. The closed beta itself will feature only a portion of the game rather than the full game.

Sea of Thieves is due out for Xbox One and PC on March 20.

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for 5% off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.