Monster Hunter: World PlayStation Plus beta detailed [Update: Introduction Video]

Beta runs from December 9 to 12.

Monster Hunter: World

Capcom has detailed the PlayStation 4-exclusive PlayStation Plus beta for Monster Hunter: World planned to run from December 9 to 12.

Here are the details:

Specifics

  • Start Time: December 9, 2017 at 9:00 a.m. PT / 5:00 p.m. GMT / 6:00 p.m. CET
  • End Time: December 12, 2017 at 8:59 a.m PT / 4:59 p.m. GMT / 5:59 p.m. CET
  • Location: Your gaming room + the Internet
  • Requirements: Internet connection, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Plus subscription, 5.9 GB of free space, hunting spirit

Quests

The beta features three quests across two environments from the game. In the Ancient Forest, you can hunt a fierce yet beginner-friendly Great Jagras or as a more experienced player confront the mighty threat of an Anjanath. In the Wildspire Waste, a massive, dry expanse with swamplands, you can face off against the intermediate level mud-slinging Barroth.

Rewards

In addition to an unquantifiable amount of fun, complete each quest and you’ll get some useful bonus items in the full game! Just make sure you use the same Sony Entertainment Network account for both the beta and the full game.

Additional Notes

Each quest can be done solo or with up to three other players online, and you’ll be able to choose from 14 different weapon types based on your preferred play style, which you can now change during quests at camp. You can even try out each of them before heading out on a quest by visiting the series’ all-new Training Room, included in the beta! Potions and other supplies will be provided on quests during the beta, but you’ll have to fetch your own food and drinks outside the game for those long gameplay sessions.

And one final note – this beta is just a taste for what the quests will look and feel like in the full game. The beta features a game currently in development and some aspects about balance may be different from the full game, but the satisfaction of tracking and bringing down a giant monster you’ll find is all there.

Monster Hunter: World is due out worldwide for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One on January 26, 2018. A PC version will be released at a later date. In Japan, Monster Hunter: World will only be available for PlayStation 4.

Update 11:30 p.m.: Capcom has released a 10-minute Monster Hunter: World introduction video.

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for $3.00 off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.