Shin Megami Tensei IV: social classes and organizations
posted on 01.08.13 at 10:11 PM EDT by (@salromano)
Meet The Eight Legions and Cult of Gaia assemblies.

The official website for Shin Megami Tensei IV was updated today with new story details and characters.

The main characters of Shin Megami Tensei IV live in East Mikado, where the separation of social classes is clear. Government and intellectual workers are high ranking Luxuries, while farmers and traders are low ranking Casualties. Luxuries seem to treat Casualties poorly, but the latter lives without complaints of their difference in class. Only when one of the Casualties is chosen to be a Samurai can they become one of the Luxuries. Many Casualties admire the Samurai.

Moving over to Tokyo, demons thrive, but order is kept by an organization called “The Eight Legions Union Asura Assembly” based in Roppongi district. They protect people from threats by negotiating with the demons. But a sanction that prevents forgiveness is imposed on those who don’t approve of this method. The “Cult of Gaia,” which Shin Megami Tensei fans should be familiar with, is based in Ginza. They carry a survival of the fittest mentality, believing that humans and demons alike must rely on their own power to survive. They are hostile toward The Eight Legions and disapprove of their methods.


  • Tayama (CV: Houchuu Ootsuka) – Leader of the Eight Legions Union Asura Assembly. He is worshipped and feared by the masses.
  • Kaga (CV: Kahoru Sasajima) – A member of the Cult of Gaia. She has a strong and brave personality, and is fighting aginst the Asura Assembly.
  • Black Samurai (CV: Atsuko Tanaka) – A mysterious person who appears before the hero. She is familiar with the roads of Tokyo and East Mikado.

View a new set of screenshots at the gallery.

Thanks, Inside Games.

Save $3 with the coupon code "GEMATSU"